Entries by loozy

Kirk Wins SOCAN’s 2015 Hagood Hardy Award

SOCAN Awards were presented to members whose complete repertoire of creative works achieved the highest number of performances in their respective categories during 2014: Kirk MacDonald won this year’s award for excellence in the genre of jazz.

Kirk Wins TMA149 Lifetime Achievement Award

Youth Jazz Canada congratulates Artistic Director Kirk MacDonald on his Toronto Musicians’ Association 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award. Born in Sydney, Nova Scotia, Kirk MacDonald joined the Cape Breton Musicians’ Association at age 12, and made his first recording a year later. Since moving to Toronto in 1997, he has performed on over 45 CDs, both as […]

“Symmetry” Wins 2015 ECMA Jazz Recording of the Year

Symmetry wins the 2015 East Coast Music Award for Jazz Recording of the Year. Symmetry is saxophonist Kirk MacDonald’s eleventh CD and is his fixth release on Addo Records Symmetry features the legendary trumpeter Tom Harrell, along with  jazz greats bassist Neil Swainson, pianist Brian Dickinson, and drummer Dennis Mackrel.

Kirk MacDonald wins 2015 JUNO Award

Jazz Album of the Year – Solo for Vista Obscura Vista Obscura is the latest album by saxophonist Kirk MacDonald. It is his sixth release on Addo Records and features the legendary Harold Mabern, along with Canadian jazz greats Neil Swainson, Andre White, and Pat LaBarbera. Vista Obscura is Kirk’s second Juno Award winner and […]

Symmetry Nominated for 2015 ECMA Award

Kirk MacDonald’s CD, Symmetry has been nominated for Jazz Recording of the Year for the 2015 East Coast Music Awards being held this year in St. John’s Newfoundland. The CD features Tom Harrell, Brian Dickinson, Neil Swainson & Dennis Mackrel. Symmetry is available to purchase through Amazon & iTunes

Vista Obscura Nominated for 2015 Juno Award

Kirk MacDonald’s latest release, Vista Obscura has been nominated for Jazz Album of the Year, Solo for the 2015 Juno Awards being held this year in Hamilton, Ontario. The CD features Harold Mabern, Pat LaBarbera, Neil Swainson & André White. Vista Obscura is available to purchase through Amazon & iTunes

New CD!

I’m looking forward to releasing my eleventh CD as a leader. It’s a quintet recording featuring ten new compositions of mine with a great band. Members are Tom Harrell (trumpet/fluglehorn), Brian Dickinson (piano), Neil Swainson (bass), Dennis Mackrel (drums) and yours truly on tenor saxophone. Look for an early October release on ADDO Records.